Portugal – from scratch!

Hello and welcome to my blog!

I’m a British expat who moved to the northern town of Aveiro in November 2012 – just before the rainy season kicked in. I honestly believe it rains more here than it does in the UK, and that’s something I never thought I’d say!  But, enough about me – here’s to my first outings in the world of blogging!

I’ve decided to write a blog about places in Portugal because I think it’s a hidden gem on the outlying lands of Europe.  It’s a country that’s so incredibly different from north to south, east to west, and, at least in my experience, it’s highly overlooked as a holiday destination. It’s well-known for the Algarve, where numerous holidaymakers head each year for guaranteed sunshine and great beaches, but the country has more to offer, and I hope to show you some of my favourite places, things to do, and help you discover places that barely get a mention in guide books.

So, welcome on board. I hope you enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

